Regional District


The Peace River Regional District (PRRD) was established in 1967, and is geographically the largest regional district in BC, encompassing approximately twelve million hectares (119, 337 square kilometers). The PRRD serves a population of 66,477 residents, seven incorporated communities and four electoral areas that represent over 40 unincorporated (rural) communities. There are eight First Nation communities within the District's boundaries, which also include part of the traditional lands of the McLeod Lake Indian Band.

Regional districts in British Columbia were established by the Provincial Government for three primary purposes:

  • act as local government for their (unincorporated) electoral areas;
  • provide the political and administrative frameworks necessary for member municipalities and electoral areas to collaborate on the provision of services;
  • be the regional service body responsible for providing regional services to, and undertaking key activities on behalf of, their entire regions.

Mission, Vision and Values

To provide regional and sub-regional public services that are socially, environmentally and economically sustainable in response to expressed needs in the region.

A strong, diverse and sustainable Peace River region inspired by innovative leadership that promotes livable and safe

Accountability, cooperation, credibility, fairness, honesty, integrity, leadership, respect and trust.

Share this: