Who We Are


The Peace River Liard Regional District (PRLRD) and Peace River Liard Hospital District (PRLHD) were set up in 1967. In 1987 the districts split into two areas. Electoral Area ‘A’ and all lands above the 58th parallel became the Northern Rockies Regional Municipality. Lands under the 58th parallel and east of the Rockies became the Peace River Regional District (PRRD) and Peace River Regional Hospital District (PRRHD).


There are 27 regional districts in all of BC. The PRRD is the biggest at 119,000 square kilometers. Based on the 2016 census, the population of this region is 62,942. The Regional District includes four rural electoral areas B, C, D and E, along with seven municipalities:

The land varies from Rocky Mountains in the west to the Interior Plains in the eastern sections. The Peace River drains much of the region. The North portion of the PRRD is drained by the Fort Nelson River.

Services provided by the PRRD, in the region, include:

  • noxious weed control
  • community recreation
  • fire protection
  • solid waste control
  • rural water services
  • sewage collection and disposal
  • parks
  • building inspection

The PRRD’s economy is comprised of:

  • agriculture
  • tourism­
  • manufacturing
  • oil and gas
  • hydro-electric power generation
  • forestry
  • mining

New developments in the area include tourism, coal, use of aspen in pulp and wood products, and mining.

To read­­ about local governments and how regional districts work check these publications or visit the Regional District page: