Electoral Area C election results

Following a recount of the preliminary election results declared on October 15, 2022, the election results for Electoral Area C are:


Suzanne Haab 234
Brad Sperling 231

After careful review of election records, the Chief Elections Officer has determined that it is necessary to submit an application to challenge the validity of the election due to evidence of persons voting when not entitled to vote in Electoral Area C. Elections documentation indicates that a small number of electors from outside of Area C voted in the election by mistake. There is no evidence to indicate this was done purposefully to undermine the validity of the election. However, due to the closeness of the election results, the small number of ineligible ballots may have determined the overall election result and the validity of the election must be challenged.

Upon review of this application, the Supreme Court will decide whether a new election must be held in Area C only. This application will not challenge the validity of the election in Area B or any of the five assent votes. Suzanne Haab will take office as Electoral Area Director for Area C until such time as the Supreme Court issues a decision.

The Peace River Regional District (PRRD) is committed to upholding public trust in the democratic process and ensuring that proper elections protocols are followed. We apologize to the candidates and voters who participated in this election and look forward to implementing a fair resolution as decided by the Supreme Court. As this matter is before the Court, the PRRD will not be commenting further until after the Court has made its ruling.

Share this: