Volunteer Emergency Services

Search & Rescue

When requested, volunteer Search and Rescue teams are available to support Ground Search and Rescue activities throughout the Peace Region. All members receive search training with some trained in specialized disciplines including Rope Rescue, Tracking and Swiftwater and Ice Rescue and HETS.

South Peace Search and Rescue

Practices: 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm every other Thursday with one weekend practice per month
Contact: Del Gerlinsky,  President 250-219-4665 or Kate Mana, Vice President 250-719-8485
For more information: See the South Peace Search and Rescue Facebook Page

North Peace Search & Rescue

Regular Practices: 7:00 – 9:00 pm on the 1st & 3rd Wednesday of each month
Rope Practices: 7:00 to 9:00 pm 2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month
Contact: Brian Lamond, Search Manager/President 250-793-0761
Website:  http://www.npsar.ca/

Chetwynd Search & Rescue

Practices: 7:00 to 9:00 pm on designated Wednesdays
Contact: Don Wheeler, Search Manager
For more information: Tel: 250-788-3211 (SAR Hall) or 250-788-9138 (Don Wheeler) or chetwyndsar@gmail.com

Tumbler Ridge Search & Rescue Society

Practices: 7:00 pm on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month
Contact: Craig Waters, President
For more information: tumblerridgesar@gmail.com

 

Emergency Social Services

Emergency Social Services (ESS) provides short-term assistance to British Columbians who are forced to leave their homes because of fire, floods, earthquakes or other emergencies. This assistance includes food, lodging, clothing, emotional support and family reunification.

Chetwynd ESS

Contact and Volunteer Info: Leo Sabulsky, Fire Chief, 250-788-6344 or lsabulsky@gochetwynd.com

Dawson Creek ESS

Contact and Volunteer Info: 
Sabrina Walter, ESS Director, 250-784-3660 or swalter@dawsoncreek.ca

Fort St. John ESS

Contact and Volunteer Info:
Kylah Bryde at 250-794-3271 or kbryde@fortstjohn.ca
Robin Langille at 250-794-3297 or rlangille@fortst.john.ca

Hudsons Hope ESS

Contact and Volunteer Info:
Bob Norton, Fire Chief, 250-783-9901 or bob@hudsonshope.ca

Peace River Regional District ESS

Contact and Volunteer Info:
Jill Rickert, Community Services Coordinator, 250-784-3209 or jill.rickert@prrd.bc.ca

Taylor ESS

Contact and Volunteer Info:
Kevin Needham, Deputy Fire Chief, 250-789-3392 or kneedham@districtoftaylor.com

Tumbler Ridge ESS

Contact and Volunteer Info: 
Dustin Curry, Director of Protective Services, 250-242-3939 or trfire@dtr.ca

Fire Protection

For information on volunteer fire fighting check our Fire Protection page.